go to news and events

European Crime Book Club

We are a small, friendly club meeting monthly for lively discussion of European crime books chosen by members and to keep abreast of new developments and events in the genre.  You can check out details of what we’ll be reading on the 3Ls website/noticeboard and you are very welcome to join us if it kindles your interest.  Meetings take place on the third Tuesday of the month from 4.30pm – 6.00pm in room GH232 unless otherwise indicated on the 3Ls website/noticeboard.

Annual subscription £10. To join the group you must first be a member of the 3Ls Association.

Please note that the Club is currently full and we are operating a Waiting List.


Committee Members 2020-2021

President: Wendy Clarke

Secretary: Alison Johnson

Treasurer: Alice Bradley

Committee Member:  Robert Kinloch

Contact Details:  ecbc.pres@gmail.com

European Crime Book Club Programme 2019-2020



Here is some more information to inspire your reading:


Sandrone Dazieri (Kill the Father)

An article on the final part of his trilogy, Kill the King

Translated crime novels published 1 April 2019 – 31 March 2020


Petrona Award Entries 2020



CWA Daggers 2020 – Longlists including Crime Fiction in Translation category 



CrimeFest Awards 2020 – Shortlists (‘one of Europe’s leading crime writing conventions’)  


New Crime publications 


In case you have finished the pile of books by your bedside and various box sets here are some suggestions from Club members.



The Siege by Arturo Pérez-Reverte translation by Frank Wynne

The Flanders Panel by Arturo Perez Reverte

Donato Carrisi novels – 5 in total.  The Girl In The Fog was a Sunday Times crime novel of the month, and his debut The Whisperer won 4 (Italian) literary prizes.

The Quaker by Liam McIlvanny






Euro Crime

Euro Crime is a site for fans and would-be fans of British and European crime fiction and crime fiction in translation. It includes both British and other European crime fiction writers (that have been published in English); non-European born crime writers who are strongly associated with European crime fiction (eg. Donna Leon), and crime writers in translation from outside of Europe.’Euro Crimes list of Authors and Country Bibliographies

Euro Crimes Blog – Reviews and News about British, European and Translated crime fiction, tv and film.  https://eurocrime.blogspot.com/


Crime Reads

A source where readers can find the best writing from the worlds of crime, mystery, and thrillers https://crimereads.com/